People

Robin Grey, Rachel Rose Reid, Tim Ralphs and Naomi Wilkins are currently leading on the show which regularly features local guest performers too. Katherine Hallewell is our apprentice for 2017. Gwilym Morus and Owen Shiers perform our Welsh sister show Gadael Tir.

leeds trio strip small

Rachel Rose Reid – http://www.rachelrosereid.com/
Rachel Rose Reid is a writer, storyteller & performance artist who has performed at the Southbank Centre, Nuyorican Poets Café (NY), Latitude Festival and The Barbican; received commissions from BBC Radio 3, the Royal Shakespeare Company and Billy Bragg and collaborated with the Roundhouse Experimental Choir and Dizraeli & the Small Gods.

She also creates rituals allowing people to share and make stories, often connecting urban-dwelling participants with folk customs. The Lonely Planet blog named her community ritual ‘The Willesden Green Wassail’ as “one of the UK’s most inspirational winter events”.

“Reid’s a consummate performer and remains very much one to watch.” The Independent
“A contemporary storyteller of immense skill and breathless conviction.” The Times

Robin Grey – http://www.robingrey.com
Robin is a social historian, folk musician and land rights activist.

With his guitar and musical friends, Robin has graced the boards of Cecil Sharp House, the Southbank Centre, Wilton Music Hall, the Glastonbury Festival and the Union Chapel as well as performing closer to the earth around London’s gardens: King Henry’s Walk, The Urban Physic Garden, The Centre For Wildlife Gardening, Hawkwood Nursery (Organiclea) and Dalston Eastern Curve to name a few.

“Robin has a lovely fresh approach to the folk genre. A honeyed yet clear voice and his lyrics are arresting. A real treasure.” The Londonist

Naomi Wilkins
Naomi is a radical queer Christian activist and musician based in Manchester.

They just completed a year chairing the National Committee of Woodcraft Folk, having been a long standing member and graduated from the University of Manchester with a degree in Music. Already committed and seasoned activist at 21, Naomi has been heavily involved in campaigns for free education and divestment from fossil fuels.

Tim Ralphs – http://www.timralphs.com/
Tim is a professional storyteller and an interfaith minister based in Nottingham.

He was a British Award for Storytelling Excellence winner in 2012 and has performed everywhere from majestic Teutonic castle at Alden Biesen in Belgium, to the muddy Shropshire fields of The Festival at the Edge, via sophisticated theatres of Soho and The Barbican.

“Words that are applied glibly to other performers – such as brave, experimental and innovative – apply truly to Tim Ralphs. An imagination and talent such as Ralphs, spotlights storytelling as a thoroughly modern performance art form.” Nell Phoenix, Story Nights Torriano

Katherine Hallewell
Katherine is a folk singer and community food grower based in Stroud.

Land is the golden-green thread running through much of Katherine’s work and play. You might find her sowing seeds in the vegetable patch at a community growing project, or cooking up a feast in the outdoor kitchen on a woodland camp – or at the end of the day, leading the singing around the fire. Performing with Three Acres And A Cow brings together her passions for land, people, song and story.

Guest performers

Adrian O
Ariane Hadjilias – http://differentplanetarts.org.uk/?page_id=6
Bill Murray
Brian Denny
Brendan Crocker – http://www.brendancroker.com/
Cath and Phil Tyler – http://cathandphiltyler.tumblr.com/
The Common Lot – http://www.thecommonlot.org/
Crafting For Foes – https://craftingforfoes.bandcamp.com/
Crazy Divine – http://crazydivine.com/
Dennis Gould
Dolly May – http://www.dollymay.com/
Green Diesel – http://www.greendieselfolk.com/
Gwilym Morus-Baird – https://welshmythology.com/
Highworth School Folk Band – http://www.highworth.kent.sch.uk/
Hugh Lupton – http://www.hughlupton.com/
Inez Aponte – http://growinggoodlives.com/
Jackie Singer – http://www.jackiesinger.co.uk/
James Watt
Kate Waterfield – http://katedenny.com/
Keely Mills – http://keelymills.wordpress.com/
KMT – http://www.3kmt.co.uk/
Laura Burns – http://lettucemelodies.wordpress.com/
Lisa Kenwright – https://www.sfs.org.uk/storyteller/469/profile
Lisa Schneidau – http://www.lisaschneidau.co.uk/
Mark Brown – http://www.hedgemustard.org/
Marilyn Tucker and Paul Wilson – http://www.marilynandpaul.com/
Mind The Gap – https://mindthegapmusic.org.uk/
Nick Hunt – http://nickhuntscrutiny.com/
Owen Shiers – https://gemtonemusic.wordpress.com/
Peggy Seeger – http://www.peggyseeger.com/
Peter Linebaugh – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Peter_Linebaugh
Peter Relph
Phil Pritchard
Ribbon Road – http://www.ribbonroadmusic.com/
Ru Litherland – https://organiclea.wordpress.com/
Sally Goldsmith – https://salgoldsmith.wordpress.com/
Simon Heywood – http://www.simon-heywood.com/
Simon Floyd – http://simonfloyd.co.uk/
Stick In The Wheel – http://www.stickinthewheel.com/
Tim Graham – http://www.timgrahammusic.co.uk/
Tim Laycock – http://www.timlaycock.co.uk/
Tim Ralphs – http://www.timralphs.com/