People

Robin Grey, Rachel Rose Reid, Tim Ralphs and Roo Bramley are lead performers on the show. Katherine Hallewell is our apprentice for 2017/18. Gwilym Morus and Owen Shiers perform our Welsh sibling show Gadael Tir. Our performances often feature local guest performers and they are also detailed below.

Rachel Rose Reid – http://www.rachelrosereid.com/
Rachel Rose Reid is a Kohenet Hebrew Priestess. As a writer, storyteller & performance artist she has performed at the Southbank Centre, Nuyorican Poets Café (NY), Latitude Festival and The Barbican; received commissions from BBC Radio 3, the Royal Shakespeare Company and Billy Bragg and collaborated with the Roundhouse Experimental Choir and Dizraeli & the Small Gods.

She also creates rituals allowing people to share and make stories, often connecting urban-dwelling participants with folk customs. The Lonely Planet blog named her community ritual ‘The Willesden Green Wassail’ as “one of the UK’s most inspirational winter events”.

“Reid’s a consummate performer and remains very much one to watch.” The Independent
“A contemporary storyteller of immense skill and breathless conviction.” The Times

Robin Grey – http://www.robingrey.com
Robin is a Buddhist, social historian, folk musician and land rights campaigner based in Sheffield.

He has composed five albums of thoughtfully literate, gently-experimental folk music which have been streamed over 4m times, winning him fans as far away as Brazil, Korea and Russia. His music has ended up in a cult Korea gay movie, a French TV comedy series and other suitably random locations. With his live show Robin has graced the boards of Cecil Sharpe House, The Union Chapel amongst many others.

“Robin has a lovely fresh approach to the folk genre. A honeyed yet clear voice and his lyrics are arresting. A real treasure.” The Londonist

Roo Bramley
Roo is a radical queer Christian activist and musician based in Manchester.

They chaired the National Committee of Woodcraft Folk, having been a long standing member and graduated from the University of Manchester with a degree in Music. Roo has been heavily involved in campaigns for free education, stopping asylum seekers’ deportations and fossil fuel divestment.

Tim Ralphs – http://www.timralphs.com/
Tim is an interfaith minister and storyteller based in Nottingham.

He was a British Award for Storytelling Excellence winner in 2012 and has performed everywhere from majestic Teutonic castle at Alden Biesen in Belgium, to the muddy Shropshire fields of The Festival at the Edge, via sophisticated theatres of Soho and The Barbican.

“Words that are applied glibly to other performers – such as brave, experimental and innovative – apply truly to Tim Ralphs. An imagination and talent such as Ralphs, spotlights storytelling as a thoroughly modern performance art form.” Nell Phoenix, Story Nights Torriano

Katherine Hallewell

Katherine is a folk singer, food grower and community organiser based in Stroud.

Land is the golden-green thread running through much of Katherine’s work and play. You might find her sowing seeds in the vegetable patch at a community growing project, or cooking up a feast in the outdoor kitchen on a woodland camp – or at the end of the day, leading the singing around the fire. Performing with Three Acres And A Cow brings together her passions for land, people, song and story.

Guest performers

4 Hoarsemen – https://www.facebook.com/thefourhoarsemen/
Adrian O
Ariane Hadjilias – http://differentplanetarts.org.uk/?page_id=6
Bill Murray
Bradford Women Singers – http://bradfordwomensingers.org.uk/
Brian Denny
Brendan Crocker – http://www.brendancroker.com/
Cath and Phil Tyler – http://cathandphiltyler.tumblr.com/
The Common Lot – http://www.thecommonlot.org/
Crafting For Foes – https://craftingforfoes.bandcamp.com/
Crazy Divine – http://crazydivine.com/
Dennis Gould
Dizraeli – http://www.dizraeli.com/
Dolly May – http://www.dollymay.com/
Grace Petrie – http://gracepetrie.com/
Green Diesel – http://www.greendieselfolk.com/
Gwilym Morus-Baird – https://welshmythology.com/
Highworth School Folk Band – http://www.highworth.kent.sch.uk/
Hugh Lupton – http://www.hughlupton.com/
Inez Aponte – http://growinggoodlives.com/
Jackie Singer – http://www.jackiesinger.co.uk/
James Watt
Jumana Moon – http://www.jumanamoon.com/
Kate Waterfield – http://katedenny.com/
Keely Mills – http://keelymills.wordpress.com/
KMT – http://www.3kmt.co.uk/
Laura Burns – http://lettucemelodies.wordpress.com/
Lisa Kenwright – https://www.sfs.org.uk/storyteller/469/profile
Lisa Schneidau – http://www.lisaschneidau.co.uk/
Mark Brown – http://www.hedgemustard.org/
Marilyn Tucker and Paul Wilson – http://www.marilynandpaul.com/
Mind The Gap – https://mindthegapmusic.org.uk/
Nick Hart – https://nickhartmusic.bandcamp.com/
Nick Hunt – http://nickhuntscrutiny.com/
Owen Shiers – https://gemtonemusic.wordpress.com/
Peggy Seeger – http://www.peggyseeger.com/
Peter Linebaugh – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Peter_Linebaugh
Peter Relph
Phil Pritchard
Ribbon Road – http://www.ribbonroadmusic.com/
Ru Litherland – https://organiclea.wordpress.com/
Sally Goldsmith – https://salgoldsmith.wordpress.com/
Simon Heywood – http://www.simon-heywood.com/
Simon Floyd – http://simonfloyd.co.uk/
Stick In The Wheel – http://www.stickinthewheel.com/
Tim Graham – http://www.timgrahammusic.co.uk/
Tim Laycock – http://www.timlaycock.co.uk/
Tim Ralphs – http://www.timralphs.com/